

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

Governor Tony Evers / Secretary Kevin A. Carr

Division of Juvenile Corrections / Administrator's Office

ADMINISTRATOR'S MEMO TO COUNTIES

MEMO # 20-04

DATE: March 18, 2020

TO: County Partners

Ron Hermes, DJC Administrator FROM:

Casey Gerber, ICJ Compact Administrator

COVID-19 Update – Suspension of ICJ with state's identified with sustained **SUBJECT:**

community transmission.

Effective immediately, Wisconsin will NO LONGER accept Travel Permits (of any kind) or Transfer of Supervision requests from states identified by the CDC where there is sustained community transmission. Please refer to the CDC website for updates. At this time, the following states have been identified: Illinois, Washington, California, and New York. This notification has been shared directly with the impacted states as well as with ICJ National Office.

As a reminder, due to the fluidity of the COVID-19 pandemic and the nation's response due to increases in confirmed cases throughout the nation, it is important to review the ICJ National website for the most up-to-date information, (https://www.juvenilecompact.org/state-restrictions).

As always, the Division of Juvenile Corrections will continue to share information and updates as quickly as possible. Please continue to reach out to WI ICJ staff, Casey Gerber and Joy Swantz, with questions and concerns you may have

Finally, as previously mentioned in the Administrator's Memo #20-03, local workers should be mindful that timeframes may not be adhered to due to restrictions and alternate procedures in place regarding the receiving and sending state's ability to conduct home evaluations, home visits, etc.

Cc: Kevin A. Carr, Secretary, DOC Amy Pechacek, Deputy Secretary, DOC Shannon Carpenter, Assistant Deputy Secretary, DOC Emilie Amundson, Secretary, DCF

Jeff Pertl, Deputy Secretary, DCF

Danielle Melfi, Assistant Deputy Secretary, DCF

Andrea Palm, Secretary, DHS

Julie Williams Vandijk, Deputy Secretary, DHS

Nicole Safar, Assistant Deputy Secretary, DHS

Wendy Henderson, Administrator, DCF/DSP

John Elliot, Deputy Administrator, DCF/DSP

Emily Erickson, Director, Bureau of Permanence and Out of Home Care, DCF/DSP

Shelby McCulley, Director, Bureau of Youth Services, DCF/DSP

Ragen Shapiro, Section Manager, Bureau of Youth Services, DCF/DSP

John Tuohy, Director, Bureau of Regional Operations, DCF/DES

Greg Van Rybroek, Director, DHS/MJTC

DHS/DCF Area Administrators

DHS/DCF Human Service Area Coordinators

DOC/DJC Management staff

Court-attached juvenile court intake offices

File