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TO:  County Departments of Human/Social Services Directors  

     

FROM: John D. Paquin, Administrator  

  Shelby A.B. McCulley, Assistant Administrator  

 

SUBJECT: Daily Rates and Billing Policy for State Juvenile Correctional Services 

 

 

This memo is to inform you of the new daily rates for juvenile correctional services provided by 

the state and to explain in detail the policies that govern state charges. 
 

Daily Rates 
 

Under s. 301.26 (4), Wis. Stats., the Division of Juvenile Corrections is required to bill counties 

for juvenile correctional services provided to delinquent youth placed with the Department by 

the courts. The 2017-19 biennial budget, 2017 Wisconsin Act 59, specifies the daily rate the state 

charges for services provided to youth in a juvenile correctional institution (JCI). The per person 

daily rates for JCI services are shown in the following table: 

 

Charges for Juvenile Correctional Institution Services 

Daily Rate 

 

 
Dates of Service

(1)
 

 

7/1/17 to 9/23/17 9/24/17 to 6/30/18 7/1/18 to 6/30/19 

Juvenile Correctional Institution $ 292 $ 390 $ 397 

 
1. The SFY18 JCI rate became effective the second day following the publication of 2017 Wisconsin Act 59, 

or Sept. 24, 2017. The rate for July 1, 2017 through Sept. 23, 2017 is a continuation of the SFY17 rate. 

 

Daily rates for supervising youth in the community are calculated on an annual basis and 

approved by the Legislative Joint Committee on Finance. The Joint Committee on Finance 

approved two rates for community supervision services provided by the state during state fiscal 

year 2018 including a “home” supervision rate and an “alternate care” supervision rate. 
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A home rate will apply to each youth receiving community supervision services residing at home 

or in certain transitional living placements. An alternate care supervision daily rate will apply to 

each youth residing in a residential care center, group home, foster home, treatment foster home, 

or in certain transitional living placements. This new rate structure aligns resources, costs, and 

the resulting rates by taking into consideration alternate care placements and the supervision and 

treatment services provided by contracted providers. Please note that the alternate care 

supervision rate is assessed for the costs of supervision and services provided by DJC. 

Additional charges from the alternate care provider would apply and are addressed in following 

sections.  

 

The per person daily cost for the community supervision services are shown in the following 

table: 

 

Charges for Community Supervision 

Daily Rate  

 

 Dates of Service 

 7/1/17 to 6/30/18 7/1/18 to 6/30/19
1
 

Alternate Care Supervision $ 73.00 TBD 

Home Placement Supervision        $ 165.00   TBD 

 
1. SFY 2019 community supervision rates will be communicated to counties in a subsequent memo during 

CY 2018. 

 

  

Billing Policies 
 

I. Charges for Youth in Type 1 Juvenile Correctional Institution (JCI) Status  
 

Counties will be charged the JCI daily rate for youth placed in JCIs (Copper Lake School, 

Lincoln Hills School, and the Juvenile Treatment Center at Mendota Mental Health Institute 

(MJTC)).  The county will be billed for each day a youth is:  

 

A. In the JCI on a court placement order;  

 

B. In the JCI on an administrative detention pending revocation; 

 

C. Absent from the JCI receiving special treatment services. The JCI charge will 

continue until the youth is released to community supervision from the treatment 

unit or the JCI, without limitation as to number of days of leave. Examples are 

youth placed into a medical hospital or a mental health treatment unit (other than 

MJTC). 

 

D. Temporarily absent from a JCI on an approved leave. During temporary absence, 

the charge will continue for up to 14 consecutive days or until the youth returns to 
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the JCI, whichever occurs first. There is no state community supervision provided 

or charged during these absences. Examples are absent for court visit, absent to an 

approved jail or secure detention, and absent for other "off-grounds" reasons 

authorized by the Department. 

 

E. Absent without leave (AWOL) while in Type 1 JCI status. For a youth who has 

absconded while on Type 1 status, the charge will continue for 14 consecutive 

days or until the youth is returned to the JCI, whichever occurs first. 

 

F. On a trial visit to the youth's home (not an alternate care facility). If the youth is 

receiving state community supervision while on a trial visit, the home placement 

daily rate will be charged (please refer to Section II). 

 

 

II. Charges for Youth under Community Supervision 

 

A. Youth Released to State Community Supervision 
 

A county will be billed either the home supervision or the alternate care supervision daily rate 

each day the state provides supervision for a youth placed by the county. Youth residing at home 

or in certain transitional living placements will be charged the home supervision daily rate. 

Youth placed in a residential care center, group home, foster home, treatment foster home, and 

certain transitional living placements will be charged the alternate care supervision daily rate. 

 

The county will be billed up to 14 consecutive days each time a youth becomes AWOL from 

community supervision.  The supervision rate charged during the billable AWOL period will be 

the rate charged at the time the youth goes AWOL.  

 

Community supervision rates are suspended and a county is billed the JCI rate when a youth is 

placed temporarily in a JCI. 

 

Any time a youth under community supervision requires placement in an alternate care facility 

the county will be billed the additional costs for alternate care services detailed in Section III. 

 

 

B. Interstate Compact Youth in Other States 

 

Counties are billed the alternate care supervision daily rate for Wisconsin youth residing in other 

states having their case managed by the state as specified in the Interstate Compact for Juveniles. 

 

C. Secure Detention  
 

Counties will be directly responsible to pay for secure detention costs for youth on state 

community supervision. This includes basic care, supervision, and transportation costs associated 

with youth placed in secure detention. If a youth on state community supervision is placed in 
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detention, the community supervision rate charged at the time of the detention is charged up to 

14 consecutive days for each placement. [As prescribed in 48.526(2)(c) of Wi., Stats., counties 

may not use Community Youth and Family Aids for basic care and supervision costs of a youth 

held in secure detention.]  

 

 

III. Charges for Youth in an Alternate Care Facility 

 

A. Alternate Care Facilities 
 

As part of community supervision, the state may place the supervised youth into an alternate care 

facility. The state will charge counties an amount equal to the amount the provider charges the 

Department for that type of care. Alternate care facility charges are in addition to the alternate 

care supervision rate. Alternate Care facility charges include care in: 

 

 Residential Care Centers (RCC), including Type 2; 

 Group Homes (GH); 

 Treatment Foster Homes (TFH); 

 Foster Homes (FH); and 

 Transitional Living Placements 

 

Any of the alternate care providers may be reimbursed for temporary absences of clients from 

their programs when a state community supervision staff has approved the absence. No payment 

for an absence in excess of 14 consecutive days or 14 days within the month will be approved for 

a facility. Paid absences to alternate care providers will be billed as service days to the counties. 

 

B. Trial Visit to Alternate Care 

 

The county will be billed the applicable alternate care facility charges and the alternate care 

supervision rate for youth on trial visit to an alternate care facility. These rates would not be 

charged in the case of a youth who will be transferred to county aftercare when the county is 

supervising the trial visit and paying the alternate care provider directly. 

 

 

IV. Charges for Youth Placed at the Grow Academy 

 
Counties will be charged the JCI daily rate for youth placed at the Grow Academy, regardless of 

the placement type. Billing policies will be the same as those outlined in Section I. Charges for 

Youth in Type 1 Juvenile Correctional Institution (JCI) Status. 

 

Services Not Charged to Counties 
 

As specified in statute, state correctional services for certain youth are not the financial 

responsibility of counties. All state service charges for these youth are paid directly by the 
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Division of Juvenile Corrections through the Serious Juvenile Offender (SJO) appropriation as 

prescribed in s. 301.26 (4) (cm) Wis. Stats. Please note, the Serious Juvenile Offender 

appropriation is authorized to fund state correctional services only. When a SJO youth is held in 

secure detention, the county remains directly responsible for the costs associated with the youth 

detained, including transportation. 

 

The categories of youth for whom direct state payment is made are: 

 

 Serious Juvenile Offenders -- Youth adjudicated delinquent for a specific serious felony 

offense committed on or after July 1, 1996, who are placed by the court in the Serious 

Juvenile Offender (SJO) Program under s. 938.34 (4h) as a disposition. 

 

 Wards of the state -- Youth under the guardianship of the state Department of Children and 

Families at the time they are adjudicated delinquent [s. 301.26 (4) (c)]. 

 

If you have any questions regarding state charges, monthly billing statements, or billing policies, 

please contact Sheila Pelehowski at (608) 240-5911. Counties who are interested in state 

community supervision services or who have questions on community supervision should 

contact Katie Herrem, Director, Office of Budget & Programs at (608) 240-5934. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Cc:  Jon E. Litscher, Secretary, DOC 

 Cathy A. Jess, Deputy Secretary, DOC 

 Eloise Anderson, Secretary, DCF 

 Lisa Marks, Deputy Secretary, DCF 

 Brad Wassink, Assistant Deputy Secretary, DCF 

Linda Seeymeyer, Secretary, DHS 

Tom Engels, Deputy Secretary, DHS 

Jenny Malcore, Assistant Deputy Secretary, DHS  

 Fredi-Ellen Bove, Administrator, DCF/DSP 

 Ron Hermes, Director, Bureau of Permanence and Out of Home, DCF/DSP 

 Wendy Henderson, Director, Bureau Youth Services, DCF/DSP 

 John Tuohy, Director, Bureau of Regional Operations, DCF/DES  

Emily Tofte, Section Chief, Child Welfare Licensing Section, DCF/DSP  

 Greg Van Rybroek, Director, DHS/MJTC  

DHS/DCF Area Administrators 

 DHS/DCF Human Service Area Coordinators  

 DOC/DJC Management staff 

 County Youth Aids contacts 

 Court-attached juvenile court intake offices 

 


