### PRAIRIE DU CHIEN CORRECTIONAL INSTITUTION (PDCI) 500 EAST PARRISH STREET PRAIRIE DU CHIEN, WI 53821-9900 608-326-7828

https://doc.wi.gov/Pages/OffenderInformation/AdultInstitutions/PrairieduChienCorrectionalInstitution.aspx

### **GUIDELINES FOR IN-PERSON VISITS**

	IN-PERSON VISITING HOURS	
Fridays:	2:00PM – 9:30PM	3-hour block
Saturdays, Sundays:	10:20AM – 9:10PM	3-hour block

Please note: Visits are scheduled in 3-hour blocks (which includes processing through the lobby). Scheduled arrival time is the start; late arrival or delayed processing due to visitor compliance does not change the end time. Late arrivals will be processed as time allows so as not to impact other groups.

### To schedule an in-person visit at PDCI

https://www.signupgenius.com/go/PDCIin-personvisits

### **Required Information**

- Name of the person in our care (PIOC) and their DOC number.
- First and last names of each visitor

Visits are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis.

Visitors will not be allowed to sign up or edit the visit 2 days prior to the visit date. Visitors will receive a confirmation e-mail from Sign Up Genius.

If email is unavailable, visitors may call 608-326-7828 x2601 to schedule an in-person visit; if you reach voicemail, please provide a phone number and a good time to reach you.

Failure to comply with DAI Policy 309.06.01 Visiting or the following guidelines will result in denial of entrance or removal from PDCI. A summary of visiting rules is also posted at the first website above.

### **SPECIAL INFORMATION**

Wisconsin State Statute 302.095 prohibits delivery of any article to an offender in a state prison, depositing or concealing an article within a state prison or its boundaries or receiving an article to convey out of the institution that is contrary to the rules or without the knowledge / permission of the warden. Any person found in violation may be guilty of a class I felony. In addition, Wisconsin State Statutes 961.49 and 961.495 prohibit the possession, delivery or distribution of a controlled substance on or within 1000 feet of a correctional facility.

PDCI Visitor Entrance Guidelines Revised 04/2025

**PDCI is committed to maintaining a drug-free institution** and will actively investigate and prosecute any individuals bringing drugs into this facility. This facility will take whatever actions are deemed necessary to prohibit the entrance of drugs and other contraband.

### Anyone exhibiting signs of intoxication will not be allowed to enter PDCI.

Please note that persons in our care will be expected to undergo a full body scan after a visit in order to prevent contraband being introduced into PDCI.

### PARKING AT PDCI

- 1. Park in the lot on Parrish Street. Enter the facility through **<u>Building A</u>** (clearly marked) at the pre-approved time.
- 2. Approved visitors must wait in their vehicle in the parking lot until their pre-approved arrival time. *Please do not arrive more than 15 minutes prior to your scheduled visit.*
- 3. No weapons, illegal drugs, or alcohol are allowed on state property.
- 4. Remove your keys and lock your vehicle. Windows must be shut, although in hot weather, windows may be left open no more than 1 inch.
- 5. Anyone denied entrance must leave state property immediately. No one may remain on state property to wait for other persons who are visiting.
- 6. Pets may not remain in an unattended vehicle on institution grounds. Minor children may not be left unattended in the lobby or parking lot. An adult must accompany children leaving a visit.
- 7. Yelling, waving, sounding vehicle horns or blinking headlights to signal inmates is strictly prohibited.
- 8. No photos of the institution may be taken. No littering or horseplay.
- 9. Disabled/stalled vehicles must be reported; vehicle must be attended to and/or removed as soon as possible. Vehicles left on state property for over 48 hours will be towed at the owner's expense.
- 10. PDCI is a tobacco-free facility. Tobacco use is not allowed anywhere on state property including the parking lot. Visitors will be expected to extinguish cigars/cigarettes and halt other tobacco use before entering the lot.

### ARRIVAL

<u>Only 6 pre-approved visitors</u>; minors <u>must</u> be accompanied by an approved adult visitor. You may wait in the parking lot up to 15 minutes prior to your scheduled visit. Late arrival may impact entry – visit may not be extended.

Upon arrival, you will be asked to provide photo identification; ID must remain ready to display to staff during your visit. You must sign the Visitor Register. Your hand will be stamped and you will be required to show this stamp upon exit.

**Cell phones, cameras or other electronic devices, personal watches, tobacco products, lighters, matches, pocketknives, and weapons are not allowed in the institution.** Secured lockers are provided in the lobby for items that may not be carried into the institution (including wallet, keys, and cell phone – *please turn off ringer).* 

### **IDENTIFICATION**

Individuals 16 years and older are required to provide photo identification (<u>valid</u>: driver's license, DOT / military / tribal ID card, or passport/visa). An adult on the approved visitor list must accompany any person under the age of 18. Amish visitors who do not have a photo ID may contact the institution to arrange authorization.

### METAL DETECTOR

# All visitors must clear the metal detector. *Please avoid wearing excessive jewelry or clothing with metal (e.g. large metal buckles, snaps, or buttons, bib overalls, underwire bras)*

It is the visitor's responsibility to clear the metal detector and shoes may need to be removed in order to do so. Visitors will be given three attempts to successfully pass through the metal detector. An individual unable to clear the metal detector will be denied admission.

### **SPECIAL ACCOMMODATIONS**

Anyone requiring special accommodations for a visit due to a disability/medical need (e.g. medical implants or appliances which do not allow one to clear the metal detector, wheelchair, walker, crutches, Bledsoe boot, brace, etc.) must submit a "**Visitor Requesting Accommodation**" form (DOC-2424); the form must be completed by a licensed physician and must be approved by PDCI security department prior to scheduling a visit. Once verified, the form will be maintained on file for future visits and can be accessed by all DAI institutions where you are approved to visit.

Visitors in wheelchairs must pass through the metal detector and transfer to an institution wheelchair, unless prior arrangements have been approved per the DOC-2424. Neither wheelchairs, nor carts will be provided by PDCI without prior authorization per the DOC-2424.

### ALLOWABLE ITEMS

No paper money, cameras, purses, or diaper bags may be brought into the institution. Prescription medication (only that which is required during the visit) must be kept at the visit officer's station. PDCI uses cashless vending. *PDCI has transitioned to cashless vending. One debit/credit card will be allowed to use in the vending machines. No coins will be allowed.* 

Photos may be taken during your visit. Each photo requires a \$2 token, which is available for purchase in the lobby *(you may not return during your visit, so be sure to buy enough tokens prior to leaving the lobby)*. No food items may be brought into the institution; vending machines are available in the visiting room. Inmates are not allowed to handle money of any kind, but may receive food items purchased by visitors from the vending machines.

<u>Only</u> the following items may be brought in for your use while visiting (will be inspected thoroughly by lobby staff):

Coat, gloves, hat (may not conceal identity) 1 pacifier2 plastic baby bottles1 Comb / pick / brush4 diapers2 baby blankets1 hand-held baby seatBaby wipes -small amount in clear plastic bagOne debit/credit card1

### **ATTIRE**

The dress code has been developed to ensure a tasteful and wholesome family atmosphere in the visiting room at PDCI. Footwear and appropriate attire is required at all times during visits.

The following apparel is considered inappropriate and will result in denial of entry into the institution:

- 1. Watches (may be left in a locker);
- 2. Transparent / translucent clothing; camouflage clothing;
- 3. Shorts less than fingertip length (i.e. visitor standing naturally with arms straight down the side of the body and fingers extended);
- 4. Skirts or dresses less than fingertip length plus three inches (as stated in #2 above);
- 5. Tops or dresses which expose the midriff (front and/or back) or that are strapless, tube, or halter style. Camisoles or tank tops are only permissible under other attire;
- 6. Spandex, Lycra, or other similar tight, body-hugging clothing (including athletic or stretch pants, tights, leggings **unless** worn under a top that is fingertip length or longer);
- 7. Exposed undergarments;
- 8. Clothing with revealing holes, slits, or tears. Low-cut blouses, shirts, and dresses (at the discretion of PDCI staff);
- 9. Clothing or accessories with obscene or profane writing, images, or pictures;
- 10. Gang or club-related clothing or insignia indicative of gang affiliation or use of alcohol or drugs. This includes, but is not limited to, jackets, shirts, and footwear bearing club logos;
- 11. Any clothing that may have the potential to cause undue attention.

Hats/headgear may not conceal identity; anyone who wears religious headwear which conceals identity must call the security program assistant (ext. 2302) at least 24 hours in advance to make the necessary arrangements for a visit.

## All restrictions apply equally to men and women, and children; failure to comply will result in denial of entrance or removal from PDCI.

## Video Visits at PDCI

Register at <u>ICSolutions.com</u> to schedule video visits.

### Monday – Thursday

10:10AM – 9:00PM

Persons in PDCI's care are allowed 4 25-minute video visits per week.

All visitors must be on the approved visit list (DOC-21AA visit application).

- Minors must be on the approved list and accompanied by an approved adult.
- No more than 6 persons allowed on a video visit.
- Only those scheduled to attend the visit are permitted.
- Each visitor will be required to show ID during the visit, when asked by staff

### DAI Policy 309.06.01 – Visiting is to be adhered to at all times. A summary of these rules is

available at the DAI site:

https://doc.wi.gov/Documents/OffenderInformation/AdultInstitutions/Enhanced%20Video%20Visitation%20%28 ADA%20compliant%29.pd f

# Rule violations by any party will result in the termination of the visit and is subject to suspension of future visits (including in-person) by the security director.

### **Prohibited Conduct**

Visit will be terminated immediately if there is any suspicion of prohibited conduct.

- Visitors may not record the visit.
- Illegal activity
- Behavior deemed inappropriate in the visiting room. Includes, but not limited to:
  - o Sexual acts or nudity
  - o Drug or substance use during the visit
  - Showing objects identified as a threat (firearms, weapons, knives, etc.)
  - o Inappropriate language or security threat group signals
  - Inappropriate location of visitor (bar, night club, etc.)
  - Operating a vehicle during a scheduled visit
- Attire not permitted:
  - Exposed undergarments
  - Clothing with revealing holes, tears, or slits
  - o Transparent/translucent (see-through) clothing
  - o Clothing or accessories with obscene or profane writing, images, or pictures
  - o Gang-related clothing, headwear, shoes, logos, or insignias
  - o Headwear that conceals identity

PDCI Visitor Entrance Guidelines Revised 04/2025