Wisconsin Joint Legislative Committee on Finance c/o Committee Clerk Joe Malkasian Submitted via email: joe.malkasian@legis.wisconsin.gov

Dear Members, Joint Committee on Finance:

As required by 2017 Act 185 and revised by 2019 Act 8, the Juvenile Corrections Grant Committee respectfully submits this statewide plan for grants to counties to build Secure Residential Care Centers for Children and Youth. This plan includes the following requirements as articulated in Act 185:

- Recommends grants to approve;
- Based on an overall view toward a Wisconsin model of juvenile justice;
- In consultation with the Wisconsin Department of Corrections (DOC) and Department of Children and Families (DCF);
- Only those applicants whose plans and specifications have been approved by DOC are included (or this is waived?)
- Grants are recommended at 95% or 100% of design and construction costs as outlined.

The committee received four (4) grant applications. These applications were received from:

- Brown County
- Dane County
- Milwaukee County
- Racine County

The grant applications were scored based on a rubric corresponding to the criteria determined by the committee. These criteria include:

- Budget detail, narrative, cash match;
- Facility, geographical information;
- Assessment of resources and programming;
- Project narrative and project main summary;
- Implementation plan;
- Program sustainability;
- Evidence of local support.

Based on these factors, the Juvenile Corrections Grant Committee makes the following recommendations:

Recommendations

We look forward to your committee's consideration of these recommendations. Please advise next steps.

Respectfully,

Juvenile Corrections Grant Committee members

Secretary-designee Kevin A. Carr, Department of Corrections Secretary-designee Emilie Amundson, Department of Children & Families Representative Mark Born, Wisconsin State Assembly Representative David Crowley, Wisconsin State Assembly Senator Alberta Darling, Wisconsin State Senate Ms. Sharlen Moore, Co-founder, Urban Underground Representative Joe Sanfelippo, Wisconsin State Assembly Representative Michael Schraa, Wisconsin State Assembly Senator Lena Taylor, Wisconsin State Senate Senator Van Wanggaard, Wisconsin State Senate