

WISCONSIN DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTIONS

Governor Tony Evers / Secretary Kevin A. Carr

Division of Juvenile Corrections / Administrator's Office

ADMINISTRATOR'S MEMO TO COUNTIES

MEMO # 21-02

DATE: July 12, 2021

TO: County Departments of Human/Social Services Directors

FROM: Ron Hermes, Administrator

Lance Horozewski, Assistant Administrator

SUBJECT: Juvenile Correctional Facility Rates

This memo is to inform you of the approved daily rates for juvenile correctional facility (JCF)¹ services provided by the state during state fiscal year (SFY) 2022 and SFY 2023.

Juvenile correctional facility rates are established as part of the biennial budget. The 2021-23 biennial budget was enacted July 8th, 2021 and included rate increases that are a direct result of significantly declining populations that have occurred at Lincoln Hills and Copper Lake Schools since SFY 2019.

The previous memo, #21-01, details the related billing policies and community supervision rates.

Daily Rates

Juvenile Correctional Facility Rates

Under s. 301.26 (4), Wis. Stats., the Division of Juvenile Corrections is required to bill counties for juvenile correctional services provided to youth placed with the Department by the courts. The daily rate for services provided to youth in a JCF are shown below:

	Dates of Service	
	7/1/21 to 6/30/22	7/1/22 to 6/3023
Juvenile Correctional Facilities ¹	\$1,154.00	\$1,178.00

 $^{^{\}rm I}$ Includes placements at Type 1 facilities and the Grow Academy.

-

Questions regarding these rates should be directed to Tim Reneau-Major, Director, Office of Budget & Programs at (608) 240-5920 or TimothyJ.ReneauMajor@wisconsin.gov. If you have any questions regarding state charges, monthly billing statements, or billing policies, please contact Brooke Richardson at DOCDJCCOBusinessOffice@wisconsin.gov or (608) 240-5911.

Cc: Kevin A. Carr, Secretary, DOC

Jared Hoy, Deputy Secretary, DOC

Melissa Roberts, Assistant Deputy Secretary, DOC

Emilie Amundson, Secretary, DCF

Jeff Pertl, Deputy Secretary, DCF

Nadya Perez-Reyes, Assistant Deputy Secretary, DCF

Karen Timberlake, Secretary, DHS

Julie Williams Van Dijk, Deputy Secretary, DHS

Lisa Olson, Assistant Deputy Secretary, DHS

John Elliot, Deputy Administrator, DCF/DSP

Emily Erickson, Director, Bureau of Permanence and Out of Home Care, DCF/DSP

Shelby McCulley, Director, Bureau of Youth Services, DCF/DSP

Ragen Shapiro, Section Manager, Bureau of Youth Services, DCF/DSP

John Tuohy, Director, Bureau of Regional Operations, DCF/DES

Greg Van Rybroek, Director, DHS/MJTC

DHS/DCF Area Administrators

DHS/DCF Human Service Area Coordinators

DOC/DJC Management staff

Court-attached juvenile court intake offices

File